Stitch Workshop

In our stitch workshops I have tried to link my samples back to my initial cathedral sketches, as I feel that it is very important to show how my work can develop into stitched textile samples. Below I have created the sample using dissolvable fabric to create a textured piece, the fabric is very easy to use as you just need to free hand embroider using the circular sewing machine foot to create your design before allowing the sample to soak in water until the fabric has completely disappeared. I have used this fabric many times before throughout my a-level and foundation, but have never threaded the sewing machine up with large embroidery threads. I really love the effect that they have created as it is so quick and easy to do and works well to create bold lines over the top of regular embroidery threads. I will definitely be combining the two techniques again and again in my work.

IMG_3934

Leave a Reply

