‘Layered Landscapes’

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 18.58.29

I came across Emma Marshall’s work when searching on the internet for inspiration into our ‘Hidden City’ project. I was drawn to the complex urban patterns that she has created through editing images together and creating shadows. I want to use her style in a illustrative hand drawn way, as I have based my research on the hidden city theme. In particular the patterns/ shapes you can see out and about in Cardiff, from older buildings being covered up by new contemporary architecture or interesting architecture that is high up and out of view. My groups final piece idea is hang 7 pieces of clear acetate in front of each other, with our own individual architecture drawings printed on each one. I will be using Marshall’s work as key inspiration for my line drawings as I like the composition she has used throughout this collection of images and I want to try and do the same with my own drawings from Cardiff.

Leave a Reply

