Digital Workshop – Laser Cutting

Laser cutting is a technique that I’ve never used before today, we had a machine last year during my Foundation but I never required it for any of my work. Although is something that I’ve wanted to try out for quite a while. I chose quite a simple design for my first laser cut piece to play it safe, however Steve did give me the change to laser cut into green and pink acrylic. This has allowed me to place the cuttings that would have just become scrap, into the opposite colour to create 2 different samples. Allowing me to create a more interesting final piece. I’m most definitely looking forward for the chance to use the laser cutting machine with a more complex design on a different material to push the boundaries a bit more.

laser cut

Leave a Reply

