Hypothetical Brief – Proposal

During this project I will be designing an interior design collection, for the domestic home for Caitlin Wilson Textiles. My brief is to create an exciting, up-beat and vibrant collection of prints aimed at the 25-35 year old, young professional women. I have chosen the A/W 2016/17 Surface & Decoration trend ‘Off Beat’ as my main inspiration. I was initially drawn to the colour palette and style notes. I’d like to use this theme in order to create my collection based on my own travels this summer in Europe, to both Amsterdam and Italy. The trend specified a use of colourful compositions, use of embellishment, digital moiré, using double register colour & offset prints, in order to create a well rounded collection with depth rather than plain prints. I’m hoping to use a range of printing techniques from digital print, to hand screen-printing to foil printing. However, it all depends on what will work best for my final print collection. I also love the idea of using stitch either digitally or by hand, to add detail to a particular print, which is great as it’s part of my trend forecast. I want the general look for my collection to be eye catching, bright, bold, playful but most importantly sophisticated, to capture my customers attention. My prints all need to work well together to create a warm feel, that could be used on a range of interior products from curtains, wallpaper, cushions, bedding to general fabric to be used around the home.

Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 23.51.27 Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 23.59.09 Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 23.59.22 Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 23.59.32 Screen Shot 2015-10-14 at 23.59.42

Leave a Reply

