Rajasthan Trip – Week 1

So far I am having the most amazing time in Jaipur and have been so inspired and have been astonished everyday by the culture and overall way of life. Even though I have been to India before, I have still been amazed by the the colours, print and overall craziness. As a group everyone has managed to get to know each other so well and I have made friends with students from a range of subjects. We have managed to fit in so much so far, that I feel like I’ve been away for weeks when it has only been 6 days!

Day 3. We visited the Amber Fort a huge site on the outskirts of the Jaipur and has brilliant views back over the city. It’s filled with extravagant architecture, which dates back to the 15th century and is a iconic place of interest. It was also great to see and compare to the Red Fort I visited in Delhi.

IMG_1247.JPG

We then headed on to the Anokhi Museum of Hand Printing, that is dedicated to the preservation & dissemination of hand print textiles. The museum was just incredible and so up my street, as it not only had a gallery of prints showing the various stages of the hand printing process but also had technical demonstrators upstairs who shows us a few methods used. One of the demonstrators was a wood block carver, who hand carved intricate designs to be used as block prints. I even got the chance to have a go at some layered hand printing.

IMG_1248.JPG

Lastly before heading back to the hotel we were able to visit the Panna Meena Stepwell & Bihariji Temple that were both incredible. The stepwell is unlike anything i’ve ever seen before and is just so impressive and full of inspiration, with so many hidden patterns and shapes. The temple was great to look around also as it is such a historic structure. I can honestly say that today has been one of the best days out I’ve ever had, I enjoyed every minute of it I hope that in the future I’ll be able to come back and revisit all of these places.

IMG_1249.JPG

Leave a Reply

