Overlocking Workshop

Today I had a overlocking workshop with our stitch tech demonstrator Maggie, with the aim of the session to be able to thread and understand how to use the machines independently ready for our final field module. I used to use overlockers quite a bit when I was studying my Fashion & Textile A-level so have experience using them, however I’ve never threaded one up before. Below are a few images that I took throughout the workshop as key pointers to go along side my notes about different stages of the threading process. Luckily the machine is colour coded well which is very handy, however it can get a be complicated to get them overlapping each other correctly. The 5 important pointers that I need to remember when using the standard setting (STD) are:

  1. That I’m using the write setting for my fabric (STD – Calico + Heavier Fabrics)
  2. Tension at 3 or 4
  3. Stitch length at 2.5
  4. Differential feed 1/0
  5. Front plate is set to S

Rolled Hem (RH):

  1. That I’m using it for light weight fabrics
  2. Stitch length is set to R
  3. Front bottom right switch is set to RH

Another few reminders that Maggie mentioned for us to consider are:

  • To always chain the thread off to begin to check the machines working properly
  • No need to lift the foot – unless using light weight fabric so might struggle on the corners
  • Pull the threads through the back using a needle (STD Setting)
  • Either unthread and pull through, small stitch or glue (RH Setting)
  • Be aware of our design when printing – e.g. using puff right to the edge, might struggle to get it through the overlocking. Also to consider this when beading – overlock sample first.
Leave a Reply

