IG Project Progression 16

Once I had finished screen-printing my final designs onto my recycled denim, I then began to start stitching into each of my square patches, using my drawn out design ideas. Hand embroidery is quite a lengthy process, however with the free non exact style that I’m after luckily hasn’t taken quite as long get a good amount done. Below are some image of my stitch progression throughout.

1/8

2/8

More design progression showing close ups of some of my designs during the stitch process.Β 

Finishing the Edges

Deciding how to finish of the edges of my patches a bit of a dilemma as I did originally think about overlocking them, however that just wouldn’t give the raw rebel feel that I was after, so after speaking to Stitch tech dem Maggie I decided to go for a triple stitch in a orangey colour as you usually see as a hem stitch for denim jeans – I felt as if it was very fitting and suits the idea. I then thought it would be nice too leave the edges to fray just adding to the rough biker feel, it will also give the patches a nice frame when mounted onto the white cards.

Leave a Reply

