London Research Trip 2

To further my currently research into my final major project theme, I decided to go to London for the day to see a few relevant exhibitions. I began the day at the V&A Museum at the new Lockwood Kipling: Arts and Crafts in the Punjab and London exhibition about his work in the Arts in both India and in the UK. The exhibition was fascinating containing information at Lockwood Kipling’s extensive career and bought back so many memories from my trip to India.

screen-shot-2017-02-08-at-15-19-27

I then headed to the British Museum, which i’ve never visited before to have look around the ‘Asia’ section of the museum. Unfortunately the main India rooms were closed, however I spent time looking around other parts of the museum. A few of my favourite images from my time there are below. Hopefully I will be able to go back to the museum to see the India section when we go back for the Chelsea Harbour Design Centre visit in March.

Finally I then headed to the Fashion & Textile Museum to visit the current Josef Frank, Patterns-Furniture-Painting exhibition. The exhibition was just amazing, with so many different large scale repeats to look at. I especially liked the combination of having a mixture of completely different large scale prints being displayed next to each other, as well as having co-ordinating chairs upholstered. This is what I have envisioned for my collection, as I want to create an interiors collection that hopefully mixes different large and small scale patterns using a bold colour palette. The photographs below are a few of my favourite that I took whilst walking around the exhibition.

img_0852

Whilst walking around London I also came across this custom telephone box decorated by Andrea Tyrimos in Bloomsbury. I really like the way she has used black as a background colour and has made me want to experiment with using different coloured backgrounds rather than just only white to layer colour onto.

img_0850

Leave a Reply

