Experimentation: Illustrator 1

After creating my initial lino blocks and printing them in the print studio, I have spent a bit of time live image tracing them and playing around scale, the designs and repeat patterns. I have learnt so much from this process, as it’s made me realise how much I need to perfect my lino cuts to begin to make them symmetrical and neat so that they don’t need any adjustments made on illustrator so that they can just be printed between my screen printed sections easily. I am hoping to put some of these designs onto a screen and combine them with different layers of marks inspired by the doors and archways from my trip to Rajasthan in India. Giving me the combination of traditional motif styles with more abstract marks, hopefully giving my designs the contemporary look I’m after.

Leave a Reply

