Experimentation: Illustrator 2

After spending time mark making the other day, I have spent a bit of time manipulating my designs on illustrator, paying around with scale, repeats and colour. The initial introduction of colour to my work has been quite hard, as I tend to mark make and draw using black on white paper. It isn’t the most experimental way of working, but I find it the easiest way to get my ideas out on paper without confusing myself with colours. Working with colour then on illustrator is so much easier, as if it doesn’t work I can easily eye drop in another colour. Overall I am happy with my experiments from this evening, however I now need to sort some illustrations to to put onto a screen ready to repeat and play around with in the print studio using my colour palette to create some coloured repeat patterns.

Over the next few days I will mark make a bit more using black inks again to experiment with my initial illustrations from my inspiration sketchbook, now that I know what brush stroke styles work effectively when image traced onto illustrator.

screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-11-09-50screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-11-15-40screen-shot-2017-03-01-at-23-11-14screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-11-49-09screen-shot-2017-03-02-at-11-48-57

Leave a Reply

