Experimentation: Illustrator 5

After my printing day yesterday, today I focused on developing my motifs on illustrator using my colour palette. As much as I was happy with my screen prints, they just don’t have the contemporary sophisticated look that I’m after and felt a bit child like rather than for the higher end of the market aimed towards living room interiors.

I began today by finally scanning in my lino print layouts from my print studio session, as you can see below. I am really happy with the development that I began, as I can finally image and see how my different blocks can be combined together.

From these scans of my prints, I then began to play around with each motif individually before then starting to combine motifs together. I have also finally started to play around with layers and using block colour behind and then combining final illustrative motifs over the top to create a more complicated design, with is still fresh and contemporary.

  1.  This is my first motif that I have began to manipulate on illustrator and I am very happy with how it’s turned out! I can also start to imagine the top left design being repeated again and again and upholstered onto an arm chair. Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 15.14.28Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 15.20.17Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 15.20.26
  2. Below is the development from my second motif, I have again began to incorporate my colour palette and layering style. Different to the previous art board development, I have started to play around with coloured backgrounds, which is something that I need to do more, as I really like working on a white background and it’s got that contemporary feel, but would be a bit repetitive for an entire collection and wouldn’t show much design development or variation. Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 18.21.45Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 18.21.54Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 18.22.05
  3. This is my third motif that I have began to develop and is one that is still in development that I haven’t used that many colours and still has a large amount of black. I want to try and keep the black for illustrative layering as I feel it may be too over powering in large blocks and draw your eye away from the other colours. Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 11.06.52Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 11.07.29
  4. The final motif that I was working on yesterday, was my placement of 3 flowers/leaves together. I am really happy with how this has turned out and want to further it more and play around with different background colours and try to same sort of layouts with another motif and want to combine boards to give it the indian pattern style i’m after but in a contemporary way. Tomorrow I am hoping to have a tutorial to show lecturers my work to date to then make a plan of where I should focus and work towards next.Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 11.20.59Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 11.21.06Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 11.21.14
Leave a Reply

