My Final Collection Design Process

The process behind my final degree collection is very important to me, as I am really interested in hand processes to create surface designs. During second year I was lucky enough to get a place on the CSAD trip to the region of Rajasthan in India.

My design process:

  • Initial sketchbook illustrations inspired by photographs from my time in India are drawn
  • Development of these illustrations them begins – simplifying / combining sketches together
  • Lino cut the motif created above
  • First prints of the carved lino motif scanned into illustrator
  • Designs are then digitalised and manipulated using different scales, repeat designs and colours.

Final Collection:

Thinking of having a mixture of fabric samples for my final collection:

  • Lino printed directly onto fabric
  • Screen Printed
  • Digitally Printed
  • Mixture of a digitally printed background with lino or screen print over the top
Leave a Reply

