Exhibition Prep: Cutting Samples / Putting up my show

This evening I finally put up all of my final collection work up in my degree show space. This feels like it’s been a long time coming and I feel so relieved to finally see all of my work up in one place. I am really happy with how it all looks and has turned out better than I imagined it would.

I spent the morning deliberating about how to finish off my samples and whether or not to pinking sheer, overlock or magic tape with a straight cut. I decided to go with the last option, as I feel as if it gives my samples more of a contemporary look making my designs have sharp crisp edges. I am so grateful for the 2nd year buddies and the time they took to help me attach, sew and tie off my headers whilst I worked through my samples cutting them to the final size of 29 x 29cm.

I was initially worried that I wouldn’t have enough work to fill my space as it’s rather large, however I feel as if I have the perfect amount of work without it looking too overcrowded or empty. I won’t unwrap my chair, plinth and bolster cushions until the floor has had it’s final clean and dust to make sure that nothing gets marked or damaged.

Leave a Reply

